What sequencer do you use?

Breaks, Old Skool, Nu Skool. Interested in how it's all done or have advice to offer? Post here
tdo
Old Skool Master
Old Skool Master

What sequencer do you use?

Post by tdo » Mon Feb 09, 2009 9:16 pm

Just wondering what sequencer/DAW/soft studio/tracker (or whatever the hell you wanna call it) you all use and why?

I use Live 7 and Reason 4 - I've been using Live for years, I love how it works and how fast you can do stuff but I got bogged down with "VST syndrome" (had too many) So now I only use it when I want to use Albino or Predator and a few FX pluggins.

I've been using Reason for a few months (messed with it a few times over the years) and I love it - it took a while to get use to the sequencer coming from Live and it's "clips" but I got there in the end - I love the fact that "it's all you get" so you have to work with what you have which for me brings fun back into it (like many people seem to say in interviews, Laim Howlett etc) and every time I sit there and think "I wish it did this" a quick search of the net shows it does! Reason is simple and fun but can be complex if you want it to and Thor is amazing and Scream 4! The only thing missing is a waveform display in NN-XT for editing samples.

What's your weapon(s) of choice?

squatski
Old Skool Master
Old Skool Master

Re: What sequencer do you use?

Post by squatski » Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:11 pm

black & white cubase 1 on atari ST + an akai s1000. just kiddin

i use renoise innit, and apart from R.G. it amazes me why no one else uses it! it's the king of kings for making music!

samuel
Old Skool Don Daddy
Old Skool Don Daddy

Post by samuel » Tue Feb 10, 2009 5:42 am

FL Studio all the way since I moved from Amiga to PC eight years ago.
Squatski wrote: i use renoise innit, and apart from R.G. it amazes me why no one else uses it! it's the king of kings for making music!